132 YEARS OF SERVICE to Southern Minnesota
Newspaper of Record for NRHEG Schools
128 North Broadway, New Richland, MN 56072
Phone 507-463-8112 * Fax 507-463-0504
Latest New Richland, Minnesota, weather

Commencement Sunday at 2 p.m. in New Richland


The current group is a bit smaller than in recent years, but that won’t lessen the enthusiasm as the NRHEG High School graduating class of 2017 takes the stage at the high school for commencement Sunday, June 4 at 2 p.m. This year’s graduates number 52, down from 63 last year.

The Valedictorian for the class of 2017 is Jennifer McKay, daughter of Michelle Muff of rural New Richland. She was involved in numerous activities and sports at NRHEG, including three years on the Student Council. She plans to attend the University of St. Thomas in St. Paul, majoring in pre-medicine or pre-physical therapy.

Maci Surat, daughter of Rob and Lisa Surat of New Richland, is the 2017 Salutatorian. She too was involved in Student Council. Her college plans include attending Gustavus Adolphus in St. Peter to major in psychological science and a double minor in neuroscience and Spanish.

Several musical selections, performed by the NRHEG High School Band, Gretchen Ramaker and the duet of Jillian Jongbloedt and Maurya Johnson, will be part of the commencement. Class speakers, as selected by their peers, are Surat, Tyler Raimann and Rachel Collins. Maddie and Marnie Wagner will give a presentation on parent appreciation.

Presenting diplomas this year are Superintendent Dr. Dale Carlson and school board members Karen Flatness and Rick Schultz. High school principal David Bunn will also participate. Class officers McKay and Surat will announce the graduates.

The senior class motto: “Our lives are before us, our pasts are behind us, but our memories are forever with us.”

The class colors are black, gold and white, and the class flower is a white rose with gold and black ribbon.

Graduates wearing red, white and blue cords have enlisted to join a branch of the military after graduation.

Honor students include Natalie Aaseth, Chad Agrimson, Oakley Baker, Kayley Camerer, Collins, Mercedes Dickerson, Josh Fleming, Luis Gaona, Grace Johns, Johnson, Jongbloedt, Emily King, Madison Martin, McKay, Lacey Nelson, Sam Prigge, Raimann, Ramaker, Nora Retallick, Aubrey Schlinger, Jack Schultz, Kallie Spooner, Surat, Cecelia Torp, Maddie Wagner, Marnie Wagner, Mitch Westrum and Ben Witikko.

NRHEG’s exchange student graduating is Sofia Malekas.

The 2017 Honor Escorts are Natalia Galindo and Ben Lewer.

This year’s graduates are pictured on Pages 5-8 of this week’s Star Eagle.

Add comment

Security code